Comparisons

ObservePoint alternatives: tag and analytics monitoring tools compared (2026)

Václav Ráš November 7, 2026 7 min read

Short answer. Tag-monitoring tools either send a simulated visitor through your site (ObservePoint, DataTrue, Tag Inspector, AssertionHub, AnalyticsProof) or watch tags inside your real traffic (Trackingplan; Code-Cube does both; Monita monitors through GTM). Simulated visitors suit consent states and checks before release; real traffic suits coverage of everything users do. Public prices range from free plans to DataTrue's $7,500 a month for Unlimited (mobile apps from Enterprise at $4,000), and Trackingplan's Enterprise from €2,000 a month.

We make AnalyticsProof, one of the tools below. Every fact about the others comes from their own current pages, linked at the end and checked on 2026-11-07. We did not use paid accounts of the other tools. "Not stated" means we did not find it on the pages we checked, not that the tool cannot do it.

Three questions that narrow the list

1. Can you install something in production? A tag, GTM template or SDK gives a tool your real traffic, and with it pages, browsers and countries no test would reach. If a new script needs a security review you will not get, you are left with tools that visit the site from outside.

2. Do you want to write the definition of correct, or have it learned? Rule-based tools (ObservePoint, DataTrue, Code-Cube's DataLayer Guard, AssertionHub's custom validations) can check exact values but need upkeep. Learned baselines (Trackingplan's schema, AnalyticsProof's expected state) start fast but someone has to review the first baseline once.

3. Where does the purchase happen? Real-traffic tools see real purchases. A simulated visitor should not pay on production, so it checks the purchase only where a journey can complete one, typically a test environment with a test payment method.

Overview

Tool Approach Checks values Covers purchase Consent Apps Published prices Free option
ObservePoint Page audits + scripted journeys, rules Yes Where a journey completes one Reject All / opt-out audits and journeys, GPC LiveConnect proxy, operated manually Calculator, USD/year; journeys from $2,500/year 100 pages + 25 journey runs/year
DataTrue Site scans + journeys, managed setup Not stated Journeys through flows like checkout Accepted, rejected, GPC, no choice iOS/Android on Enterprise Starter $1,333, Team $2,667, Enterprise $4,000, Unlimited $7,500 per month, billed annually Free audit, 30-day trial
Tag Inspector (InfoTrust) Scheduled audits simulating users Not stated Not stated Accept, reject, GPC, no selection Not stated Quote only Free audit
AssertionHub Recorded journeys, scheduled, GA4/dataLayer assertions Custom validations; extent not stated Built-in check for a missing value on purchase Free Consent Mode v2 / UET audit tools Not stated Freelancer €49, Agency €179 per month, credit-based Free: 50 one-time credits
Trackingplan Tag/SDK on real traffic, learned schema Not stated Yes, real traffic Real users' CMP data; Compliance module iOS/Android SDK Starter €89, Growth €699, Enterprise from €2,000 per month 9-day trial
Code-Cube GTM template on real traffic + browser bot Yes (DataLayer Guard: expected vs actual) Tag Monitor sees real traffic Consent Mode monitoring App monitoring on Pro Base €300, Pro €600 per month; Enterprise by quote Trial on base plan
Monita GTM-based tag and dataLayer monitoring Yes ("any key value pair") Not stated Enterprise: crawler API "to bypass consent banners" iOS/Android on Enterprise Teams $499/month; Enterprise custom Free: 1 domain, 100k events; 14-day Teams trial
AnalyticsProof Recorded journeys replayed daily, learned expected state No, except Consent Mode On a test environment Before consent, after accept, after reject, every plan Android, HbbTV (no SDK) Starter €49, Professional €149, Agency from €99 per month Free: 1 website, 1 journey every two weeks

Who each tool fits

ObservePoint, if you need site-wide audits and precise value rules, plus accessibility and email-link checks in one contract. It documents consent tests (Reject All audits, opt-out across a journey, GPC), a GitHub action that runs audits on push and pull request, and an MCP server.

DataTrue, if you want the vendor to do the setup. Every plan includes a managed base test suite and a monthly report, unlimited journeys, PII leak alerts and pre-publish testing of unpublished GTM or Adobe containers. E-mail alerts are on all plans; the API and alerts into other tools start at Team ($2,667/month).

Tag Inspector, if you want monthly audits across many sites with consent policies per region and InfoTrust's consulting next to it.

AssertionHub, if you are a freelancer or small agency that wants a no-install recorder with GA4 and dataLayer checks. The free plan already includes scheduled monitoring, e-mail and Slack notifications and AI selector healing; Freelancer (€49/month) covers 3 domains and 100 credits, where every run costs one credit.

Trackingplan, if you want to see what real users send on web, iOS, Android and server-side, with anomaly, attribution and PII monitoring and an assistant that drafts GTM fixes in a separate workspace.

Code-Cube, if you work in GTM and want live tag monitoring plus a bot that checks dataLayer events against rules, including values and formats, with alerts in e-mail, Slack, Teams or WhatsApp, month to month.

Monita, if you want GTM tag and dataLayer key-value monitoring with a free single-domain start. Its pages do not explain how data is collected beyond the GTM template.

AnalyticsProof, if your risk sits in a few journeys and you do not want to write rules. Anyone with editor rights records a journey in the dashboard in minutes; it replays daily (every two weeks on Free) and reports when a step's dataLayer data, GA4 requests (and Google Ads, Meta or Sklik requests once you turn them on) or Consent Mode signals change from the expected state learned on the first runs. Professional (€149/month) adds Android and HbbTV apps and a pull-request check that replays journeys on the preview. Agencies pay €99/month for three client websites, +€29 per website, with Starter features plus apps (€49 per app), but no pull-request check. Limits: one simulated visitor, no value checks except consent, no iOS, alerts only by e-mail and Slack; a young product from a Czech company, Dataras s.r.o.

Before you buy

Shortlist two or three tools, then run each on your own site for a week, ideally on the same journey or the same pages. Most have a free plan or trial. Compare what each reported, what it missed, and how long the setup took. If you want a quick look at consent before that, our free public check loads one page before consent, after accepting and after rejecting, without signup.

Method and sources

Each vendor's public homepage, pricing page and, where available, documentation. Checked on 2026-11-07. Prices as published, without conversion.


Share
Václav Ráš

Václav Ráš

Founder & CEO of AnalyticsProof. Passionate about data quality, GDPR compliance, and building tools that make analytics teams more confident.

Stay Updated

Get the latest articles on analytics compliance delivered to your inbox.